

More than a dozen South Aucklanders have been recognised for their efforts towards a better community. They won the Local Hero award at the Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards 2017.

Of the 61 "unsung heroes" in Auckland, 13 are from the south. Mayor Phil Goff presented them with medals during a ceremony held at MOTAT Aviation Hall.

"These medal winners are the unsung heroes of our communities. Their selflessness has a profound effect on the lives of many people and I want to thank everyone who was considered for an award for their positive contribution to our city and country," Goff says.

The winners from of the Kiwibank Local Hero Awards for South Auckland:

- Jasmine McPhee from East Tamaki,
- Mike and Megan Lloyd from Papatoetoe,
- Grace Annie Hight Benson, Alan Breslau and Delwyn Breslau from Manukau,
- Hurimoana Dennis from Mangere,
- Joseph Fa'afiu and Parshotam Govind from Papakura,
- Tim Seabrook from Clevedon,

- Sarah Colcord from Manurewa,
- Shauna Eldridge, Samuel Kau and Alan Lyth from Otara.

Nationwide, about 350 medals will be presented to the Local Hero award winners.

Kiwibank CEO, Paul Brock, says they are proud to celebrate New Zealand's outstanding citizens.

"New Zealand has a long-standing tradition of community service. It's therefore equally important that we have a tradition, like the Local Heroes Awards, where we can give our thanks to those who have improved the lives of others in their communities," he says.

There are six categories that make up the New Zealander of the Year Awards:

- Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year
- Metlifecare Senior New Zealander of the Year
- University of Auckland Young New Zealander of the Year
- Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year
- Sanitarium New Zealand Innovator of the Year
- Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year

The final winner for each category will be declared at a gala in February 2017.